thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Dangit Summer

Leave a comment

Summer is tough. The loss of my normal schedule makes sticking to a meal plan hard if not impossible. It’s one of the only times that I get to see most of my friends and many of my extended family. As much as I love everyone, the easiest and often the most chosen option is to go out to eat. Which is great…. no one has to cook or clean up, everyone can have whatever they want, and good times are had by all… except my waist line.

Normally, I gain a few pounds over the summer. Normally, I eat like crap, drink a bunch and don’t workout to offset any of it.

This year? This year I haven’t gained. I haven’t really lost- only 3 lbs- but I haven’t gained! I have been more mindful of what I’m eating, choosing water over alcohol (usually), and am working out daily. I haven’t missed a workout in over a month! I feel great. I’ve lost a few inches, but mainly my feelings have improved. I have more strength, more energy, and more happiness when I’m working out. It’s a win-win.

The one thing I really need to do is get my nutrition under control. July was an insane month- Brother and Uncle came to visit, quick trip to visit family in VA, and lots of time at the pool/with family. It’s been wonderful, but it’s been tough to stick to a plan.

August is going to be insane too (seriously, we created a family calendar for me, my sister and my mom and the entire month is grayed out.) Between birthdays, more visits and an irregular schedule, I’m not super hopeful for being able to get my nutrition under control. But I do have confidence that I will be able to make better choices and say “no” when it comes to things like alcohol (minus my date night for hubby’s birthday.).

And even if this month doesn’t work out, I know that come September and back to my “normal” schedule, I can totally do it. I CAN get up at 4:45 to work out every day (ugh), and I CAN make better choices. so I will.

Author: heriwen

I'm a 29 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, even more awesome husband, and most awesome daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

