thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Lobster mac and cheese

Leave a comment

Lobster is on sale and has been for weeks. Our local store has it for 5.99/pound….so we stock up. We had about 2.5 lbs of frozen lobster meat (often, the store will cook the lobsters for you. Then you just need to shell them! That’s what we did.). My mom and I were trying to figure out what to do with it and were thinking lobster mac and cheese would be phenomenal. We started doing research but couldn’t find a lightened up version of mac and cheese. We ended up making up our own. And it was amazing! Not only will we be making this again, but we will be making it again asap!!!

(I want to add that I don’t really consider this healthy- is mac and cheese ever truly healthy? You’re combining a huge amount of processed carbs with a huge amount of cheese – high calorie and definitely not a daily thing. But this is my lightened up version which will be a rare treat. I hope you enjoy!)

image

Recipe

Ingredients
(all measurements are approximations. My mom and I rarely measure. Oops)
2 cups fat free plain Greek yogurt
1 cup shredded cheddar
6oz fontina (swiss would work)
2.5 lbs lobster
1/2 cup milk of choice (we did almond milk because it’s what we had.) (Optional)
Dash nutmeg
Dash chili powder
Salt and pepper
16oz whole grain pasta
1 cup Panko  bread crumbs
1/2 cup Parmesian cheese

Preheat oven to 350. Boil pasta to package directions. Combine cheeses (minus parmesian), milk, nutmeg and chili powder and heat over medium low. You just want everything to melt together.

Taste cheese and add liquid, salt and pepper to suit  (we did 2 spoonfuls of pasta water).

Mic breadcrumbs and parmesian cheese.

In a lightly greased 9×13 pan, combine lobster meat and pasta. Pour cheese mixture over and stir until well mixed. Top with breadcrumb mixture and bake approximately 20 minutes, until top is brown and crispy.

image

Oh my god. This was so good. And honestly not terribly unhealthy haha. My dad doesn’t like Greek yogurt but loved this-went back for seconds. My mom and I each had seconds. We served this with roasted baby squash. SO GOOD!

image

(I’m doing the 21 day fix and, no, this is probably not on plan. But if I’m guessing, a 1 cup serving would be 1.5 yellows, 1 red and 1 blue. At least that’s what I count it as. And I won’t have a blue tomorrow…. and won’t feel guilty!!)

Author: heriwen

I'm a 29 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, even more awesome husband, and most awesome daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

