thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

What day am I on again?

Leave a comment

(18!)

Honestly, I’m starting to feel like this is a lifestyle change. Do I crave things? yes, but I’m not fighting them yet. I want them because I know they taste good, but I’m fine saying no. My stomach gets all sorts of upset after my dinner yesterday, but it was delicious so I had more today at lunch. The thing I thought I’d miss the most (alcohol) I haven’t really missed at all. I’m glad. It’s refreshing to know that something like that isn’t controlling your life.

Yesterday I made something called a clafouti. I beat 6 eggs with a cup of coconut milk, added some salt and pepper and cinnamon, poured it in a pan and sprinkled with blueberries and baked for about 45-50 minutes at 400. It’s very good, but very eggy. I was looking for something a little less eggy, more blueberryish but this was very good.

image

For lunch, I had more of the taco meat on lettuce wraps, and I made an avocado cream sauce to go on top of spiralized squash and “blackened” salmon (my pan wasn’t hot enough so it didn’t actually blacken but was still delicious!) recipe here.Now, while I really liked this sauce and noodles, not only did it make me feel ill, I thought the sauce was VERY lemony. I would half the amount of lemon that the recipe calls for. I love avocado and was hoping to taste more of that creamy goodness.

(silly me, I thought that my food processor was broken because I went to shred two sweet potatoes and couldn’t get it to turn on!!! awful. I realized that I just hadn’t set it up properly and it worked fine. I was awfully upset with myself when I figured it out!)

 

Today’s breakfast was some more clafouti with a side of sweet potato hash (nom!), lunch was the rest of the noodles and avocado sauce with more salmon, and dinner was more taco meat, this time on a salad.

 
image

The most wonderful man in the world stopped by and gave me a gorgeous flower for Valentine’s Day. My dad is the best ❤

 

Tomorrow is Valentine’s day and I’m just excited to be working. Hopefully I’ll make good money waitressing, and hopefully T will have a good day as well. since we’re both working, we are doing a couples massage on Saturday, followed by an excursion out to dinner. since this will be my first time eating out while on the whole 30, I’m a little nervous, but I’m sure I’ll be able to find something I can have.

Author: heriwen

I'm a 29 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, even more awesome husband, and most awesome daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

