thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Day 16 and recap

Leave a comment

Life took over. We moved into a house this past weekend and late last week/this weekend ended up being packing, moving and unpacking. Luckily, I still managed to eat well throughout this. Most days I had eggs or a banana for breakfast (Not the best) and when I made time for lunch, it was leftovers that I had. Our first night in our house, I had some of the leftover chicken filler from the acorn squash, and that was also lunch the next day. I forgot to take a picture of this, but I made spaghetti squash for the first time and I LOVED it. I roasted it, tossed it with sauteed garlic and shrimp and some broccoli slaw to try and bulk it up. It was AMAZING. Definitely on my list to make again. My mom was impressed too.

One day over the weekend, I tried a kind of “pancake” (I’ve never craved or had an issue with pancakes or waffles so I don’t consider them SWYPO.)… I mashed a banana, added an egg, mixed it all well and plopped it in a pan(with a little oil), then dropped in a small handful of blueberries. It was deliciously sweet and fruity tasting, but fluffy from the egg. sooo good!

Today, I had a banana for breakfast and lunch was the last of the spaghetti squash. Dinner tonight was a mess. I forgot to pull anything out to prepare for cooking tonight, so at around 6 I was like oops! But what I came up with was delicious! I sauteed onion, sweet peppers, garlic and some broccoli slaw. I added some chopped cherry tomatoes and then mixed it all up with some shredded chicken, chili powder, cumin, and a few spoonfuls of salsa. Then I wrapped it all up in lettuce wraps.

.image

For a dinner that only took about 20 minutes to make (minus roasting the chicken), this was delicious. I put avocado on top of the meat mixture which really added a depth of flavor (I forgot to take a picture of that part though). The veggie mixture was so pretty when it was cooking up, and I’m really proud of this last minute, throw together meal.

 

I’m finding I have cravings recently (cheese!!! ugh), but I’m having a much easier time saying “No, thank you” when temptation arises. I can honestly see myself sticking to this lifestyle. The recipes I’ve been making and had the opportunity to try have just been so good, and so much healthier than I’m used to. I can’t believe how often I would turn to cheese or cream to try and make things “taste better” when all I needed was a little creativity. So here I am, on day 16, and feeling great. My energy level is up, my attitude is positive, and I’m really enjoying eating healthy. Thanks Whole 30!!!

Author: heriwen

I'm a 28 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, and even more awesome husband. :)

Leave a Reply

