thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Day 9 – Coconut Crusted Fish

Leave a comment

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned that I love seafood… but I LOVE SEAFOOD!!! It’s legitimately my favorite, I could eat it for three meals a day, everyday until the end of time. One day on vacation I actually had seafood at every meal. It was one of the best days of my life.

Okay, all kidding aside, I love to cook fish and shrimp and any type of seafood I can. So I’ve been begging T to come home with a nice white flaky fish so that I could put coconut on it and make it extra delicious! After doing some research, I created my own recipe and I’m sharing it with you now…

I like my fish in pieces so instead of using a full filet, I cut it in thirds.

Image

Ingredients

4 White fish filet of choice (I used Blue Hake)
1 cup unsweetened coconut
1 egg
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
dash salt and pepper
1 tbsp coconut oil

Mix coconut with chili powder, garlic powder and salt and pepper. dip your thawed fish in egg and then roll in the coconut mixture. Heat coconut oil over medium-low heat. Once hot, put the fish in the oil and pan fry. You can cook them entirely in the oil or brown the coconut and then finish in the oven. Fish is done when it is opaque and flakes easily with a fork.

This is delicious alone, but would really pop with a mango salsa. I didn’t have that on hand, so I mixed some almond butter with coconut milk and red pepper flakes and this made a nice sauce for the fish. I served this with garlic cauliflower mash.

I gotta say this was phenomenal. I might be a little biased, but it was just so good. I bet it’ll be delicious on a salad as well (um, hello tomorrow’s lunch!) YUM.

Author: heriwen

I'm a 29 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, even more awesome husband, and most awesome daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

