thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Day 3

1 Comment

I didn’t want egg cups today. I just wasn’t feeling it. It wasn’t going to happen. So I decided that I would have some silky gingered zucchini soup (recipe) with a banana on my way to work. I have started to drink my coffee darker and darker and am working toward drinking it just black… I’ll get there.

For lunch I had some more of my chili that I made earlier this week. I realize I forgot to post the recipe for it, so find it here.

Just a note about that chili… it’s DELICIOUS. When I added the cocoa to the meat and onions, it started to smell so amazing and rich…. I left it on the stove during my graduate classes, and I was hard-pressed not to steal a bowl in the middle of my long-winded professor’s lecture.

And my favorite meal of the day was dinner.. I baked salmon that I rubbed with chili powder, salt and pepper, and had roasted cauliflower to go with it. I LOVE my veggies like this. I know I talked about roasted broccoli before, and cauliflower is just as good. No lie, I almost ate the whole head (but knowing that it’s a cruciferous vegetable, I decided to spare my fiance that ordeal.)

image

I am surprised (happily!) that I have yet to experience the negative side effects of whole 30, such as the hangover. I know it’s only day 3 and I have far to go, but I’m still feeling empowered and strong. Surprisingly enough, I’m not getting cravings or feeling hungry at all. Today, I had a few carrots after school, and I’m currently having a small handful of almonds with blackberries.

So far, so good!

Author: heriwen

I'm a 28 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, and even more awesome husband. :)

One thought on “Day 3

  1. Sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

