thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Northern BBQ -v- Southern BBQ

Leave a comment

Happy post-Independence Day!! I hope every had a fantastic holiday and few days off. I got to go to the beach this past weekend and enjoy a FANTASTIC meal at a little Tapas place. yummo.

I’m a northern girl living in southern Virginia. The first time I ordered a plate of BBQ I was expecting what I was used to – tomato based, tangy shredded chicken or pork with some cheese on top. Instead I was served some shredded pork with vinegar sauce and coleslaw on top. I was skeptical but after the first bite, I was hooked. Why don’t we all make this deliciousness? Even after I became Gluten-free, I still enjoy a plate of BBQ with a simple fork and knife. YUM. Still, every once in awhile I crave something that reminds me of home. To achieve this, I make up the following plate:

Crinkle cut french fries (Ore Ida), my mom’s super special sweet but spicy pickles, and a big old sandwich of northern BBQ.

Here’s how I make my BBQ:

Ingredients:
Chicken Breasts
Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce, flavor of your choice
Roasted red pepper flakes
Tastefully Simple’s Onion Onion

First I boil the chicken breasts. To do this, bring a bot of water to boil, add the chicken breasts and boil for like 15 minutes. The timing is not exact, so to make sure it’s cooked through, I check it to make sure it’s not pink. Once it’s cooked through, drain the water and shred the chicken using two forks. I like to make sure it’s pretty well shredded (no big pieces left over), so I go to town on those chicken breasts.

Once the chicken is well shredded, add your Onion Onion. I use about 1 Tbsp per two chicken breasts. Stir well, then add hot pepper flakes to taste. Once everything’s well mixed, put enough BBQ sauce in the chicken mixture to cover the chicken. I like it to have quite a bit of BBQ sauce so I add probably more than normal people would. Then I check the flavor and season (salt, pepper, onion powder, etc) to taste.

I love this stuff. I could eat it all the time. Lately, I’ve been loving these rolls:

They’re fantastic! Not greatly wallet friendly but so yummy.

I toast up the rolls, pile on some meat, top with swiss cheese (or pepperjack, I just didn’t have any) and eat up! YUM

Just a little note: making the chicken and shredding it can be done in other ways. I really like boiling it. It keeps the meat moist and makes it really easy to shred. If you have time, you can make the chicken in the crock pot (put chicken breasts in, cover with broth and leave on medium for 8 hours. drain, shred), bake it, grill it, etc.

And just to end on a smile:

Moose says happy summer. 😀

Author: heriwen

I'm a 29 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, even more awesome husband, and most awesome daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

