thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

oh my crab cakes…

Leave a comment

I LOVE SEAFOOD

just putting it out there. Life would be bland and boring without seafood and it makes me happy. I once went an entire day having seafood for every meal. Breakfast was a crab omelet, lunch was shrimp and dinner was fish. I was the happiest girl alive. And one of the best things about seafood is crab cakes.

Whoever invented the crab cake is amazing. I want to go back in time and thank them personally. shake their hand and split a delicious crab cake with them. YUM. So here’s a version (gluten-free) that a friend shared with me. I made a few tweaks and added some things, and here’s my version.

Image

please excuse the messy paper plate – I’m in the process of moving!

Ingredients:
1 can lump crab meat
1 egg
1/2 tsp garlic
dash each salt, pepper, hot sauce
zest from 1/2 lime
3 tbsp scallions or green onions

Drain crab meat and pat dry. In a bowl, whisk all other ingredients together. Fold in crab meat. Using hands, cut in half and form two patties. (Do one at a time so you don’t dirty another dish)

In a pre-heated pan with a tablespoon of oil in it on medium-high, place one of the patties. Cook until both sides are golden brown. Take out and do the other one. enjoy! YUM!!!

I love love love this. it’s not bready. It’s not heavy. It’s kind of omelettey but not eggy so it’s not. ahhhh I love it. And as an accompaniment (gotta get veggies) I made my super easy roasted broccoli:

Image

also delicious. The only ingredients are broccoli, salt, pepper and evoo. Cut broccoli into spears. Arrange in a single layer on a baking pan lined with foil. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake at 375 for 15 minutes, until a fork inserted in the stem part goes in fairly easily. serve immediately. It’s delicious as is, but I top mine with Parmesan shreds. MMMMM

The broccoli is crispy but tender and sooo delicious. Made a great side to the crab cakes. This lunch makes me smile. 😀

Image

Author: heriwen

I'm a 29 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, even more awesome husband, and most awesome daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

