thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Oh, College

Leave a comment

I was thinking last week about how very different my life is since I’ve graduated. It’s completely true what they say, that college is the very best time of your life. I mean, it’s the tine of no cares. You get up when you want to, go to class if you want to, do your homework if you want to, live where you want to… Freedom unlike any other. I’d never had this much choices! Of course, our choices have consequences which you don’t always think of or worry about.

I remember for one of my birthdays, I went out alllllll night, completely aware but not caring that I had a midterm exam the following day. Such is the life of a college student. (I passed it with a B+, btw!)

I think what I miss most, though, is just the accessibility of my friends and convenience of location. Now that I’m an adult, seeing my friends takes planning, driving, money… In college, chances are your friends are just down the hallway or in the next room. At worst, it was a bus ride away. But everyone’s door was always open and you had the freedom of say, going to Friendly’s at 12am because you really want an ice cream. Or going to a bad on a Tuesday and having your friends available and willing.

I miss dancing around my room getting ready to go out at night, enjoying a drink with friends and singing at the top of my lungs to the newest song. I miss study groups at the local coffee shop. I miss dancing at clubs and freedom. I miss knowing that my friends are doing the same thing as I am at that moment, and having everyone’s schedule synced up so that we could sleep in on Thursday in order to go to ladies’ night on Wednesday.

When did I grow up and become an adult, and why did it have to go by so fast??!!!

Author: heriwen

I'm a 29 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, even more awesome husband, and most awesome daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

