thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Grilling Sunday

Leave a comment

This weekend was wonderful. T and I went to the delicious dinner theater, Saturday was an impromptu theme park trip and Sunday we spent all morning with his family and all evening with each other. It’s always sad when he leaves.

For our one-year dating anniversary, I got T a charcoal grill. I can’t tell you how much use we’ve gotten out of it since then, but we’ve definitely gone through 2-3 bags of charcoal. As such, we have decided to make Sundays grilling days.

Now, I don’t eat steak. Don’t like it. Chicken? Chicken is delicious. Fish, yum. Occasional burger, but this severely limits my grilling capabilities. Luckily, T has gotten the art of grilling chicken down to a science. He truly is a grill master.

This dinner plate was so full of delicious. We often collaborate when grilling in that I will make the sides which leaves him to focus on the meat. He marinated the chicken in Caribbean Jerk marinade that had a splash of soy sauce in it (all gluten free! check your marinade before you use it… surprisingly the one I had had soy sauce in it!). It was so juicy and delicious that I saved it as my last bite. (I am a big supporter of the idea that the last bite should be the thing you want your mouth to taste like after you’re done eating. Save the best for last!

To make the asparagus easy to grill, I wrapped it in tin foil with some olive oil, roasted red pepper flakes and salt and pepper. I was a little heavy-handed on the red pepper, but it was still good! The quinoa is from a container (I can’t remember who makes it, but I found it at Harris Teeter for about $6. The container said it would feed 4 but it would definitely give a good sized serving to 6-8!) and had sliced almonds and raisins in it and was delicious.

Dinner was… yum. But the best part of the meal was definitely dessert.

These were… so incredible. T was giggling with pleasure (which is hilarious to watch and something I’ve never seen before). The peaches were juicy and so well complimented by the vanilla bean ice cream… YUM.

to make: Cut peaches in half and pit them (I am not good at this that is why they aren’t halves but are in fact slices. This works just as well!)
make a basting mixture of the following:
2Tbsp reduced balsamic vinegar (you can buy this or make it by cooking balsamic vinegar in a pan on the stove on very LOW heat. it’s a slow process but so worth it. it brings out the flavors and makes it thicker. very good)
1Tbsp maple syrup
1Tbsp vanilla
1Tbsp apricot/peach/passion fruit jam (or some other citrusy jam)
1/4 tsp cracked black pepper

place the peaches on the grill, brush the tops with the mixture, flip, brush again. when both sides have slight grill marks, take them off the grill, put in bowls and top with vanilla bean ice cream.

I highly recommend them as a dessert. They were light and refreshing and a great way to end a summer night. Needless to say, these will be made again. T actually said he wants to make it for my family the next time we go to visit, and wants to make my sister jealous (even though her husband is a chef!!!)

Everything above is gluten free and was delicious. YUM
All in all, it was a fantastic weekend and life is good. 😀

Author: heriwen

I'm a 28 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, and even more awesome husband. :)

Leave a Reply

