thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Moose’s Story

Leave a comment

I live alone. After college, I moved out of my parents house and got my own place and my own job, about 9 hours away from my family.

Living alone is great. You don’t have to worry about letting someone know what you’re doing for dinner or what time you’ll get home. You get to watch what you want when you want on TV and you can play your music as loud as you like. But you get lonely pretty quick.

After a few months, I was bored more often than not. I didn’t realize how bored I was until I got the call.

My neighbors had found a dog. Specifically, they had found an 80 pound black lab. They would have kept him but they already had 2 dogs and couldn’t have another one. So they offered him to me.

Problem #1: it was in my lease that I was not to have dogs.
Solution: I called my landlord and said ‘you know, I live alone, people have attempted to break into my apartment, I would just feel so much safer if I could have this dog. He’s house broken, he’s trained, he would be a great fit.’ and my landlord allowed me to get a dog.

YAY I HAD A DOG

I spent a month trying to find his previous owner. I mean, this dog is BEAUTIFUL and very sweet and had a nice coat. He couldn’t have been missing long at all. He had a [dirty] collar but no tags on him, so we posted ads for his owners and stuff. After a month, I decided he’s mine and it’s time to take him to the vet.

The vet estimated that he was between 3 and 5. (I have recently gotten a more accurate estimate that says he’s about 7 or 8… way more reasonable for this dog) After getting him his shots, and tests done we reach problem #2.

Problem #2: Heartworms
Solution: Lots of tears and lots of money. It cost more than one month’s rent to get the heartworms taken care of, and lots of trouble. I had to keep him quiet for a month after the procedure. Wow. Keeping a giant dog quiet and relaxed for an entire month?! urgh. But I did it. When I brought him in for his check up after the month was over, the vet said ‘I wasn’t really worried. I can tell that you’re the overprotective momma that you needed to be in order to keep him quiet.’ haha. That completely describes me.

So I had a healthy dog and it was time to… get him neutered.

Problem #3: Neutering
Solution: Money. He did great. I was a little worried because he’s not a puppy, but I couldn’t justify not getting him neutered. I am a big supporter of spaying and neutering cats and dogs. So I got it done.

 

Since all of this initial problems and expenses, Moose has been a great dog.  He always makes me happy. He loves people, including kids. I have taken him to sports games at the school I work at and kids can run up to him and pull on his ears and he’s okay with that. He’s the perfect dog for me ❤

Author: heriwen

I'm a 28 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, and even more awesome husband. :)

Leave a Reply

