thesmilinlife

Thoughts of a 20-something

Gluten-Free Italian bake!

Leave a comment

Gluten-Free Italian bake!

this was so good and you never knew it was GF… It would be very easy to make not gluten-free as well, by simply swapping out the pasta. This is something that my mom used to make when I was younger and it was always a favorite. It’s super easy, feeds a LOT of people and is delicious!! So here’s the recipe.

Ingredients

(approximate total cost: $15; approximate cost per serving: $1.88)
1 pkg Gluten free penne
cottage cheese (2%, small size was approx 2 cups)
Marinara sauce of your choice (I used Ragu)
hamburger meat (I used .75 lbs)
mozzarellacheese

Process

Preheat oven to 350.

cook pasta on stove per instructions. Once water is boiling initially, start cooking hamburger in a small pan on medium (brown it. I added some Onion Onion from Tastefully Simple to season it a little bit. if you don’t have this, you can use a fresh onion or not season it at all).

When pasta is done, drain it. When hamburger is done, drain it. I then tossed these back into the pasta pan (cause it is big). Add the marinara sauce (I used most of the jar but not all of it, about 3/4. You can use more or less depending on how you want the consistency) and cottage cheese and mix well. Once mixed, put it in a baking dish (I used a 9×9 and a 5×5… this makes a lot). Top with mozz cheese. Bake in oven until cheese melts. once cheese is melted, turn oven up a bit (to about 425) to brown the cheese on top. Once cheese is browned, it’s done! pull out and serve.  (it takes about 15 mins for cheese to melt and another 5 for it to brown. so total of approximately 20 minutes cook time)

I sprinkled with Parmesan cheese as well.
The amount I made will definitely serve about 8 people. It was a ridiculously big amount of stuff… You can make less pasta and adjust accordingly to make less. But I really like to freeze stuff and have it later on without having to do the work.

That’s it! Super easy. I served it with a salad. It would also be super easy to make a smaller amount. If you are not doing gluten free, use regular penne and the cost will be much lower and will still make a lot.

PS. I’m not very good at writing out recipes yet so please ask if something doesn’t make sense or you have any questions. 🙂

Author: heriwen

I'm a 29 year old teacher who loves to cook. Well, really I love to eat and with that comes the cooking. I also enjoy reading, being outside and spending time with my awesome animals, even more awesome husband, and most awesome daughter. :)

Leave a Reply

